Mind and Voice

woods

“…if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things…”

– Paul

                Wouldn’t it be interesting to see a pie graph depicting the content of our thoughts? Maybe interesting, probably terrifying. It’s ironic how little I think about what I think about. It’s kind of like breathing or speaking, it sort of just happens. Our breath is weightless, our words cheap, and our thoughts in and out like a revolving door but the commonality is deceptive. In this case, common does not equate to cheap. No, mind and voice are what make us human. Mind and voice connect us with God. Mind and voice are treasures.

It hit me the other day that I can chose what I want to think about. Mind-blowing, right? Honestly though, it seems like most of what goes on above my shoulders is automatic, maybe even robotic at times. Sure, there are breaks of intense deliberation and sweet nostalgia but for the most part it feels like I’m on autopilot. And I think that’s ok. I mean it would be exhausting to control my thoughts 100% of the time. It would be like having to tell myself to breathe every couple of seconds. But it’s a little unnerving that the control center of my body could be put on auto-pilot. I’ve crashed before and it’s not exactly an enjoyable experience.

Are you hearing voices? Seriously, if you just sit for a moment can you distinguish the different voices in your mind? Mom. God. Your brother. Professors. Your best friend. That kid from 4th grade who called you stupid. As an introvert I assume that my one safe place I can always count on is my mind. Sadly that’s just not true. Ever since Adam and Eve listened to the serpent we have all started listening to more than just God. And it’s the voice we listen to most, the story we believe, that we will live. Whether it’s your buddy telling you, “just do it, we all are” or that dumb kid from 4th grade saying you are good for nothing or God nudging you to make someone laugh, the voice you listen to most will tell your story.

If we stop and think about that for a moment I think the gravity and depth of what we let in our minds will start to sink in. Like a worn path, the more we let a voice walk through the forest of our mind, the easier it will be for us to follow right behind it. The brush is cleared away. The tall grass tamped down. Pretty soon it’s easy, maybe even comfortable, to walk on that trail. But where is it leading? Where is this voice taking me? This is where I need to turn off the auto-pilot, pull out the map, see if I’m standing on poison ivy and either start a new path or journey on.

Think about what you think about.

Is it true?

Is it honorable?

Is it just?

Is it pure?

Is it lovely?

Is it admirable?

There is a voice which speaks these qualities always and forever.

Dial the others down and listen to Him tell your story.

“He’ll show us the way he works 

so we can live the way we’re made…

Come, let us walk in the light of the Lord.”

– Isaiah 2

PS Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a comment