A Snapshot of Camp So Far

Camp is nuts. Absolutely crazy. Every day is a rollercoaster ride. You go from dancing and singing and getting pied in the face and pretending to be a space whale to trying to calm campers who literally have candy and ice cream pumping through their blood so that you can teach them about Jesus. Its crazy fun. It’s unbelievably frustrating. It’s exhilarating. It’s exhausting. It’s camp.

Amidst all this craziness, though, is Jesus. In essence he is all that is there. He’s there when I wake up nice and early in the morning. He’s there when the campers ask for the 50th time, “What are we doing next?” He’s there when it’s only noon and I have no energy left. He’s there when a camper breaks down during a worship service. He’s there and when I forget about that camp becomes everything and anything but Him. And that’s not good.

“Immediately when a man gets out of touch with God, he finds the basis of things is not beauty and love, but chaos and wrath.” – Oswald Chambers

It’s when I forget this that life at camp starts to feel more and more like chaos then something beautiful. This isn’t just at camp; Jesus is working always and everywhere! We forget though, and start getting bored, tired, and look for other things to occupy our time. Life becomes a dangerous cycle of trying harder and harder to fulfill our own desires and failing more and more. But life isn’t about us, camp isn’t about me; it’s about finding Jesus in each moment and following Him.

“As the Father loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love…These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.” – Jesus (John 15)

I have never been rocked out of my comfort zone as much as I have at camp. However, I have never experienced such sweet and intimate moments with Jesus then those up at camp. He took everything away from me so that it was just me and Him. It hurt. It was lonely. It was uncomfortable. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world. What Jesus taught me and what he continues to teach me is that I truly am dependent on Him and that is actually a grand and beautiful thing. It’s terrible and wonderful to be brought to the end of myself.

“For he wounds, but he binds up; he shatters, but his hands heal.” – Job 5:18

It hurts when He tears away what I hold onto so tightly – friends, home, being comfortable, what I want – but He’s making me more like himself and if I have learned anything, it is good to be with and like Jesus. I am learning that Jesus is more than enough for me. He’s with me and when I abide his love I can be at peace and content in any situation.

There is so much more depth to being lead out of your comfort zone by Jesus then I could ever hope to express so I encourage you ask Jesus to bring you there yourself. I also would appreciate your prayers for the campers and me, there’s still a whole lot of summer left to be had.

Leave a Reply

