“Come, follow me”

Image

In a little more than a week I will be off to Trout Lake where I will be a camp counselor for the rest of the summer. I’ve had quite a few people ask me why I wanted to be a counselor and to be honest, I don’t exactly know. It’s something that sort of just happened. I think it’s one of those things that God made happen and I just have to follow. I feel inadequate, scared, and don’t know anyone but that is a good place to be. It’s a place where what I have to bring to the table doesn’t matter that much. It’s place where I am able to lose myself in the wild but constant love of Jesus. It’s a place where I can truly decrease as Christ increases. I can live with the sweet and changing presence of Jesus in everyday, ordinary life but if I don’t allow him to take me out of my comfort zone, out on adventures in the wild, then I miss the raw but intimate, painful yet powerful gifts that come with vulnerability.

That being said, I’m sure that buckets of fun are out there to be had. Seriously, what is adventure if there isn’t joy with it? So no, I am not dreading this summer by any means, I am thoroughly looking forward to whatever God has for me and would love for your prayers for the kids that will be coming up. I believe this will be my last post for the summer so I would like to leave you with these simple but life changing words:

“Come, follow me” – Jesus

Leave a Reply

